What Trevor Morgan has left behind...

Team Jersey  |  Kingfisher East Bengal  |  2 Years Ago

Trevor Morgan may have left under acrimonious circumstances; however, no one can deny that he will go down as one of the most successful managers East Bengal has seen in its recent past. In his two stints that spanned four years, the Englishman was able to deliver nine trophies.

The I-League, however, remained a dream unfulfilled for the 60-year-old. And it was again his inability to deliver that coveted trophy that led to his sacking earlier this year after four losses on the trot.

However, if we take a step back and take in the efforts of the man, who has been equally loved and loathed by the Red and Gold faithful, we can see a number of highs.


#5 Longest unbeaten runs

East Bengal may not have got their hands on the national treasure of Indian football i.e the I-League, but they certainly have had two of the greatest runs that the league has ever seen.

Their first came in 2012, when they went 16 wins without a loss that spanned over the 2011/12 and 2012/13 seasons. After Tolgay Ozbey’s goal handed them a win over Salgaocar in March, 2012, Morgan’s brigade would go unbeaten for the last six games of the season. 

They continued that run into the next season as the went undefeated to open their 2012/13 campaign. Their run finally came to an end when they lost to United SC courtesy of a Ranti Martins goal.

They had gone on a similar 15 match run a couple of years further back. Morgan, after replacing Phillipe De Ridder as the coach, helped East Bengal go undefeated in the first leg of the 2009/10 I-League season.

The curtains were drawn on this 15-game unbeaten streak when they lost to ONGC courtesy of a solitary goal from Badmus Babatunde. 


#4 Other trophies

“Nothing succeeds like success”. The proverb certainly holds true for Morgan, who has always been a man who wanted to win it all. That attitude trickled into the dressing room and saw an earmark change in East Bengal’s body language on the pitch, especially in his first stint .

Whether it be delivering the IFA Shield and the Super Cup in 2011 or Mohammedan Platinum Jubilee Cup in 2010, Morgan had the team geared and hungry for success and they delivered time and again.


#3 AFC Cup 2013

East Bengal’s AFC Cup campaign in 2013 was a watershed moment for the team. Under Morgan, the Kolkata giants had a brilliant run in the competition.  They became the first Indian side to qualify for the quarterfinals without losing a game and the first Indian club to qualify into the knockout stages of the competition as group toppers.

The second team ever to get to the last four of the AFC Cup (after Dempo), the Red and Gold were finally eliminated by Kuwait SC.


#2 Federation Cup

Whilst, Morgan might not have been able to deliver the biggest league title in India, he certainly didn’t do any messing around when it came to coming out on top in the biggest Cup competition.

With him at the helm, East Bengal would go on to win the Cup in 2010 and 2012. 

The triumph in 2010 was especially sweet as they trounced their bitter rival Mohun Bagan to win their seventh Federation Cup. This also etched their names in the history books as a solitary strike from R Vashum made them only the second team ever to have their hands on the Cup for the second year in a row. This was Morgan’s first tournament in charge of the side and he had certainly made his mark.

Two years later, they will again go on to lift the trophy, this time in front of rapturous support from their fans at their home away from home, Siliguri. After topping Group C, the Red and Gold eliminated Churchill Brothers in the semis to set up a date with Dempo in the final.

After the full ninety minutes saw the teams all square at 1-1, Morgan’s team pressed the after burners in extra time as goals from Manandeep Singh and Chidi Edeh ensured a memorable victory.


#1 Kolkata League

The Kolkata League could be called the Trevor Morgan league –such was his dominance in the competition. The mood setter for East Bengal’s season has always brought them plenty of joy. The Red and Gold has reveled in the competition with Morgan in charge – winning it in all the four seasons he has been the head coach of side.

In fact, East Bengal have just made a habit of winning the title - winning the last seven editions. And that all started with Morgan delivering the title in 2010 in his first year in charge. 

After delivering the trophy three times in a row between 2010 and 2013, Morgan would again claim the title earlier this season.



Owned by Turtle Media and Communication, Jersey football magazine is a monthly that covers the wide spectrum of modern football from around the world. We are a team of football journos spread across the globe dedicated to offer insights and opinions of the world football as a key ingredient of sports journalism.

Launched in 2016 in New Delhi, Jersey is the first magazine globally to have such a wide range of offerings to our fanbase via Print and Digital media, Social Platform, YouTube Channel, and Jersey Football League etc.We are proud to call ourselves – The Indian Football magazine.